The cerebral cortex, is divided into 4 lobes with distinct functions. Although the cerebellum is not a lobe, I will add a quick description of it.

This is a simplified version to make it easier to understand. In reality, some functions overlap in more than one area.

Frontal lobe

The frontal lobe is responsible for complex functions such as problem solving, planning, risk assessment, etc. It also contains the motor areas responsible for muscle contraction. It is therefore used to think and move.

Planning your weekend.

Parietal lobe

The parietal lobe is mainly related to sensations. It receives information from the body in order to interpret the outside temperature, textures and other physical sensations perceived in the environment.

Perciving a fly on your arm.

Temporal lobe

The temporal lobe contains mainly auditory areas for the treatement of auditory information. It allows us to interpret sounds and understand when we are spoken to.

Understanding the story your friend is telling.

Occipital Lobe

The occipital lobe contains the visual areas. The image projected on the retina goes to this region to detect its shapes, colors, movements and make a coherent whole when we open our eyes.

Seeing a red circle.


Although the frontal lobe motor areas cause movement, the cerebellum is needed to coordinate them. It’s involved in all our gestures allowing us to perform movements including several muscles as when we speak or when we are doing a cartwheel.

Walking on a beam.

Each of these lobes are present in both hemispheres. So we have the left and right frontal lobe, the left and right parietal lobe, etc. The two hemispheres communicate with each other through a structure called the corpus callosum.

English isn’t my first language so there might be some mistakes. If you want, let me know in the comments bellow if you found any so I can fix them. Thank you!

Write A Comment